Top 10 Attacking Midfielders Of All Time

Soon we will be facing one of the most memorable sporting events in history. Ukraine Vs Scotland. Scotland is desperate to reach the semi-finals of the World Cup, but because Ukraine is still a country battling an invasion, the world is on its side.

The soccer bettings odds promise a good outcome no matter who you bet on, but the tension will be high.

Speaking of the most memorable events, it’s time to look back and remember our most memorable and outstanding attacking midfielders!

1. Cristiano Ronaldo

You might be shaking your head, muttering “No, Ronaldo is a winger” or “Hm.. Don’t you mean forward?” In all honesty, Ronaldo plays a bit of everything, the only thing he isn’t is a goalkeeper.

Regardless of how you categorize Ronaldo, he is without a doubt, the best-attacking player of all time. He travels like he is on a mission, and slows down for no one. When he reaches the goal, that ball hits the net. And if anyone gets in his way, he can weave past them like it’s nobody’s business.

2. Lionel Messi

Messi is another player who can be mistaken for a forward. However, whenever this amazing player touches the pitch, the game changes in his favor. Messie can demolish a game, and anyone who gets in his way will feel the full force of a sporting legend.

3. Andres Iniesta

Even the most avid soccer fan ignores the power of Iniesta. Seeing as he plays alongside Messi, it can be easy to forget that Messi needs Iniesta to set up his shots. Iniesta is the instigator and power behind every Messi move, and without him, Messi wouldn’t be nearly as great.

4. Eden Hazard

Hazard went through a moment of intense public love in 2012 as he is rumored to be worth £35 million ($44,125,060) due to his amazing Ligue 1 season. During this time Hazard had completed 17 goals and 14 assists!

In 2018 Hazard helped Belgium come in third place for the FIFA World Cup. His last individual award was in 2018 too, when he was named the Belgian Sportsman of the Year.

5. Neymar

Neymar’s full name is Neymar da Silva Santos and he is an outstanding player who has been added to the National team 4 times, one of which was for the Olympics.

As an individual, he won the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A Team of the Year three times in a row – 2010, 2011, and 2012. During that time was also named the South American Footballer of the Year (2011 and 2012).

In 2017, Neymar was named the UNFP Ligue 1 Player of the Year.

6. Mesut Özil

Mesut Özil

Although some people called Mesut inconsistent, he has amazing power which very few other soccer players can boast about. Playing for Real Madrid, Mesut led the 2012 season’s La Liga to assist the table with his 18 in 33 matches.

Ozil’s most recent individual award was the Best German Abroad title in 2016.

7. David Silva

Silva is another player with stacks and stacks of awards. He first started playing professionally in 2001, and just 2 years later he helped with the FIFA U17 World Championship Bronze Ball.

Since then he had been claiming every award he could, including the Premier League Player of the Month in September 2011, the Manchester City Player of the Season in 2016, and the FIFA World Cup in 2010.

8. Antonio Valencia

Valencia is probably the most underrated player of all time. He has a plethora of awards under his belt, but you don’t see him among the stars. His most recent award was the Premier League Goal of the Month in September 2017, and his most jaw-dropping award is his FA Cup win in 2015 for Manchester United.

One of our personal favorites, is the Guinness World Record Valencia currently holds for the most goals scored from a corner in 1 minute – the shocking answer is 6!

9. Arjen Robben

Arjen has been Robben the screen time from his players because of his amazing attacking skills. See what we did there… Anyway, Robben is no stranger to the final, having won the Premier League twice, the FA Cup once and the ended in the runner-up position for the World Cup in 2010.

10. Kaka

Kaka holds every award under the sun. From Player of the match, month, and year, to world cup holder. Anything you can do, he can do better.


All of these players have outstanding skills and deserve recognition for their attacking midfielder abilities. 

Similar Posts